Welcome to the winners announcement for the 10th Annual Sprudgie Awards presented by Oatly, honoring the very best in coffee.

Nominees for each category were chosen by a worldwide public ballot. Public voting for the Sprudgies took place over several weeks in December 2018, with the ballot box closing at 11:59 PM on Friday, January 4th, 2019.

Thanks to the tens of thousands of voters who helped make this the biggest voting field in Sprudgies history. Congratulations to all the nominees—to us, every single 2018 finalist was a winner.

Here they are: the winners, honorees, and finalists for the 10th Annual Sprudgie Awards, presented by Oatly!

Notable Roaster

Winner: Go Get Em Tiger (Los Angeles, CA)

Honoree: Red Bay Coffee (Oakland, CA)

Finalists: Devoción (Brooklyn), Black & White Coffee Roasters (Wake Forest, NC), Square Mile Coffee (London), Gardelli Coffee (Italy), Sey Coffee (Brooklyn), Coffee Manufactory (San Francisco & Los Angeles).

Best New Cafe

Winner: Dayglow Coffee (Los Angeles, CA)

Honoree: Misión Café (Madrid, Spain)

Finalists: Ladder Coffee (Spokane, WA), Mane Coffee (Boca Raton, FL), Provider (Indianapolis, IN), Rosslyn Coffee (London, UK), Center Coffee Myeongdong (Seoul, South Korea), Stumptown Coffee Cobble Hill (Brooklyn, NY).

Sustainable Cafe

Winner:  Smith Canteen (Brooklyn, NY)

Honoree: Isla Cafe (Berlin, Germany)

Finalists: Casa Quilha (Brasilia, Brazil), Bar Nine (Los Angeles, CA), Madcap Coffee (Grand Rapids, MI), Houndstooth Coffee Walnut Hill (Dallas, TX), Kokako Organic (Auckland, New Zealand), Miir Flagship (Seattle, WA).

Best New Product

Winner:  Modbar AV

Honoree:  Umeshiso Cupping Spoons

Finalists: Minor Figures Oat M*lkAtmos Vacuum Canister by Fellow ProductsMelodripYes Plz Coffee SubscriptionDrinkTrade.comHuskee Cup.

Best Coffee Video/Film

Winner: Gender In Coffee

Honoree: James Hoffmann on YouTube

Finalists: Chris Baca on YouTubeAeroPress MovieGo Get Em Tiger on YouTubeCafe Imports Roasting Concepts SeriesFlower Of Flowers by Stumptown CoffeeUnpacking Coffee.

Best Coffee Writing

Winner: Sabine Parrish for She’s A Lady (originally appearing in Standart Magazine)

Honoree:  Dear Coffee Buyer by Ryan Brown

Finalists: James Hoffmann for JimSeven.com, Jenn Chen for Newsletter and Collected Works, Ashley Rodriguez for Barista Magazine OnlineThe Monk Of Mokha by Dave Eggars and Mokhtar Alkhanshali, RJ Joseph for The Knockbox, Phyllis Johnson for Strong Black Coffee (originally appearing in Roast Magazine).

Notable Coffee Producer

Juan Peña (via Cafe Imports)

Winner: Juan Peña, Hacienda La Papaya (Ecuador)

Honoree: Aida Batlle, Aida Batlle Selections (El Salvador)

Finalists: Daterra Coffee (Brazil), Benjamin Paz (Honduras), Long Miles Coffee Project (Burundi), Gesha Village (Ethiopia), La Palma y El Tucan (Colombia), Gilberto Baraona (El Salvador).

Best Coffee Magazine

Winner: Standart (Slovakia)

Honoree: Coffee People Zine (USA)

Finalists: Roast Magazine (USA), Pour Over by Califia Farms (USA), Barista Magazine (USA), Caffeine (UK), Solo Magazine (Spain), Drift Magazine (USA).

Best Design Packaging

Winner: Coffee Manufactory (San Francisco and Los Angeles, CA)

Honoree: Onyx Coffee Lab (Bentonville, AR)

Finalists: Sweet Bloom Coffee Roasters (Lakewood, CO), Brandywine Coffee Roasters (Wilmington, DE), Kaffa (Oslo, Norway), Fjord Coffee Roasters (Berlin, Germany), Lüna Coffee (Vancouver, Canada), Friedhats (Amsterdam, The Netherlands).

Best Coffee Podcast

Winner: Cat & Cloud

Honoree: Boss Barista

Finalists: Keys To The ShopThe Coffee PodcastCoffeaCoffee People MXCoffee With AprilSproCast.

Best Instagram or Twitter Account

Winner: @symmetrybreakfast


Finliasts: @umeshiso_@dapperandwise, @catcloudcoffee@coffeetablemags@perfectdailygrind@fellowproducts.

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Excellence

Photo by Josh Zloof.

Winner: Umeko Motoyoshi

Honoree: Agnieszka Rojewska

Finalists: Phyllis Johnson, Michelle Johnson, T. Ben Fischer, Adam JacksonBey, Colleen Anunu.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Erna Knutsen

The 10th Annual Sprudgie Awards are presented by Oatly.

See all past winners of the Sprudgie Awards.

The post The Tenth Annual Sprudgie Award Winners—Presented By Oatly appeared first on Sprudge.