Welcome to the winners announcement for the 8th Annual Sprudgie Awards, honoring the best in coffee.

Nominees for each category were chosen by a worldwide public ballot. Public voting for the Sprudgies took place over several weeks in December 2016, with the ballot box closing at 11:59 PM on Sunday, January 1st.

Thanks to the thousands and thousands of voters who helped make this by far the biggest voting field in Sprudgies history. Congratulations to all the nominees—to us, every single 2016 finalist was a winner.

Without further ado, here they are: your 2016 Sprudgie Awards winners.

Notable Roaster — Counter Culture Coffee

counter culture coffee los angeles california training lab silver lake sprudge

Runner up: Populace Coffee

Best New Cafe — La Marzocco Cafe — Seattle


Runner up: Cat & Cloud (Santa Cruz, CA)

Best New Product — Baratza Sette 270W Grinder


Runner up: La Bodega 

Best Coffee Writing — Scott Rao Scott Rao Presenting

Runner up: James Hoffmann (JimSeven.com)

Best Coffee Podcast — I Brew My Own Coffee — hosts Brian Beyke and Bryan Schiele


Runner up: Cat & Cloud (hosts Chris Baca and Jared Truby)

Best Coffee Video or Film — Gilmore Girls: A Year In The Life — executive producers Amy Sherman-Palladino and Daniel Palladino


Runner up: The Coffee Man (Directed by Jeff Hann, produced by Roland Fraval)

Nicest Package—La Cabra Coffee—Arhus, Denmark


Runner up: Parlor Coffee (Brooklyn, NY)

Best Subscription—Collected Coffee

collected coffee international subscription coffee roaster new york city sprudge

Runner up: Mistobox

Best Magazine—Caffeine Magazine—founder Scott Bentley, editor Chlöe Callow

Runner up: Fresh Cup Magazine (publisher Jan Weigel, editor Ellie Bradley)

Notable Producer—Aida BatlleAida Batlle Selection, El Salvador

(via Forbes)

(via Forbes)

Runner up: Gilberto Baraona (Finca Los Pirineos, El Salvador)

Finest Coffee Event—The 2016 SCAA Event—Atlanta, GA


Runner up: The 2016 London Coffee Festival (London, UK)

Outstanding Achievement In The Field of Excellence—Michelle JohnsonThe Chocolate Barista


Runner up: Sonja Zweidick (Barista Connect)

The post The Eighth Annual Sprudgie Awards appeared first on Sprudge.